Posted by: deadmousediaries | October 3, 2010

Crazy for a Cause- a big ole’ milestone for Mitchell Kyd

Find Me Here!

Whoo Hoo! Sometimes it’s good to have a momentary mental meltdown if it helps you learn a lesson — and turn a little profit.  One of my early stories about a special moment with my son has been  picked up by Chicken Soup for the Soul and it will hit the book stores on October 19, 2010.  This edition, entitled Family Matters, has been billed -without apology — as “unforgettable stories about our nutty but lovable families.”

Certainly sounds like me and mine.

Here’s the coolest part.  I am working with the United Way of Franklin County to develop a fundraiser with this book and I have underwritten the cost of three cartons of books so UW can sell them. ALL PROCEEDS GO TO UNITED WAY. The United Way is an amazing organization and one with which I have volunteered for many years. I am so happy to have found a very personal way I can contribute this year.

Although we’re still working on details, the books will be available for sale through United Way very soon, possibly in advance of their appearance in book stores and most likely at a discount from the book store price.  I’m hoping to be directly involved in some special promotions for my very first book signing and I’d love to see your smiling faces when those dates and times are finalized.  (Possibly Applefest??)

Think about this as getting a jump on your holiday shopping  as gifts for the Chicken-Soup readers on your list, inexpensive exchange gifts, secret sister gifts, stocking stuffers, and also as part of that emergency stash we all tuck away for the people who have somehow slipped off our radar but who still show up at our doorstep with a lovely batch of homemade cookies!

Watch this space for more details about how to get your copy. When you buy through this special partnership with United Way, you support a very deserving organization that  helps so many others right here in our own back yard.

And as always, thanks for reading. Although getting into this publication is just a tiny blip on the radar of the universe, it’s a huge first step for me as I jump-start a new career.  Please keep reading and let me know you’re out there!  MK

Responses

  1. Congrats! I couldn’t think of a better writer than you to have this happen to! And WHAT a story!! Keep writing… I’ll keep reading!

  2. I’m SOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooo HAPPY for you!!

    If it would be appropriate or do-able, I’d love to offer some space in the deli for a book signing. I’m not sure if the event rooms is booked the day of Apple Fest or not. I would need to check.

    Or, if you have another idea, I’m all ears (or eyes since we’re emailing).
    Please feel free to call if you can think of a possibility for us to help.

    Best wishes and congratulations!!!!

  3. great news – and please sign me up for at least one copy. . . and let me know how you decide to promote this. I’m not a big Facebook follower so I hope you’ll email me. I’m so gld otehrs are realizing what a great writer you are!

  4. OH!!!! YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Now please do tell: How did your story get picked? Did you submit it? Was it published elsewhere and discovered? Tell!


Leave a Reply

Categories

