Posted by: deadmousediaries | August 24, 2011

The New Phone Books Are Here! — Some news from Mitchell Kyd

   The new phone books are here! The new phone books are here! Now there’s a classic Steve Martin line that screams unbridled enthusiasm! Remember that great ’80s movie The Jerk? Martin plays a country bumpkin who can hardly contain himself when he knows he’s about to see his name in print—even if it was only in the phone book. I understand his excitement!

On August 24, 2011, a new Chicken Soup for the Soul book hit store shelves that includes two more of my original pieces. One is entitled: “I Have Become That Woman” and the other is the true story that make makes me a legend in my own mind: the tale of my crazy purple hair: There is an excerpt below of “Dye Hard, Too”, a story that also includes an image of a large woman plowing through grape plutonium.

I’m so happy to announce that the United Way of Franklin County is partnering with me again to use this new release, Inspirations for the Young at Heart, as a campaign fundraiser. Last year, the Family Matters edition carried one of my weird-but-true holiday stories and local United Way sales brought $1,100 back to Franklin County human service agencies.

The new book can be ordered through the United Way for $12, a 20% discount from book store prices. Please call the UW office at 717 262 0015 to reserve yours if you are interested. 

I have donated 10 books to get us rolling this year so for those early sales, the full $12 will go to the United Way. Thanks to a wonderful program for non-profits offered by Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing, United Way can buy the books at a deep discount.–cheaper than I can buy them as a contributor and we will be taking orders for additional books through October 31, 2011.

Thank you to all of you who read my blog and continue to encourage my storytelling. I’ve kept every single note anyone has ever sent me in response to my posts. Some may say I have issues but I tuck your notes away so I can pull a few out and reread them on the days I need to get my oh-poor-me self in gear.  (They also counterbalance all those rejection slips I am collecting as I learn to navigate in my new world!)

In case you missed the “Dye Hard” story on my blog nearly two years ago in its original,   full-color unveiling, here’s an excerpt of the shortened version that appears in Chicken Soup.

For thirty years, I had been the local talking head for a very large company and my career duties had included lobbying and media relations as well as reputation management for every company issue. Every conversation –at the mall, at the gas pumps, at the grocery store– ultimately revealed itself as a potential pothole. Conservative, polished and professional defined my demeanor and because I drove a car that was emblazoned with the company logo on the driver’s door, I rarely traveled incognito.

During the five months before my departure, the thought of having purple hair became more and more compelling, like that intense, pure light so many people report seeing before a near-death experience…”

The holidays will be here before you know it and the Chicken Soup books make great gifts.  There are 101 short stories (all 1200 words or fewer) in each edition and the new volume in particular is filled with great stories from “mature adults” full of fun and mischief just like me!

Thanks for considering a gift to United Way.  MK

Responses

  1. I am so glad you brighten this world!!!!

  2. great publicity photo – you look mahhhvelous! already ordered my copy, can’t wait to read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

