Posted by: deadmousediaries | March 7, 2012

Dream, Do, Become – an upcoming workshop with Mitchell Kyd

Dear friends of “Mitchell Kyd” – I’ve had an amazing number of  “go-incidences” in my life since disembarking on my career and it seems things continue to fall in place for me as I am ready to accept them. I am very happy to let you know that I will soon be offering my first writing classes. Local artist Susan Shaffer has opened Joyful Arts Studio in Greencastle and has asked me to join her teaching staff.

The first class I’m offering is a four-session journaling workshop, “Dream, Do, Become,”  that begins on Saturday, March 17th.  My classes will be held at the studio, 55 West Baltimore, Greencastle, from 9:00 am to 10:30 am every Saturday through April 7th.

Susan has designed the studio to be a place that encourages all kinds of creativity – painting, beading, pen and ink, writing, jewelry making, card making, altered art, etc.  There are already a dozen classes scheduled and although they will be teacher-led, Susan is absolutely dedicated to making this a welcoming environment that celebrates individual expression. It will also be a great gathering place for like-minded people to encourage each other as they explore their talents. There are regular “open studio” hours and GNO events planned where you can simply walk in to work on unfinished projects, drink some wine, work a little, drink more wine, etc.!

I hope you will check out Susan’s website at www.susanshafferart.com and see her beautiful work. (Her site is now a link on my blog as well. )You can click on the class list to see samples of the finished projects for many of the classes. I also ask that you consider visiting Joyful Arts Studio during the open studio event this weekend, March 9 through 11. Click on the news link for hours and details. You will have the chance to meet Susan and some of the teaching staff, get a look at the upcoming class schedule and enjoy refreshments, door prizes and giveaways. (I’ve made some mini journals to give away and every one was created while my husband watched sports on TV. I like to think of them as little tokens of love that have kept me from choking him on occasion.)

The second week of the journaling class will be led by my dear friend, artist DeWayna Hogue Pittman. DeWayna works in variety of media and participants will be delighted as they explore ways to create personal journal covers and unique inside pages. DeWayna’s work with paper and altered art is as much magical as it is masterful. I know those who join the journaling workshop will want to play with her again! (She is offering her own classes later in the month so please take a look at the website to see her amazing creations.)

I will also be offering a writing workshop that begins April 14 and runs through May 12. I’m calling that series “Who’s Writing Your Story?”and it is designed to give participants the guidance to develop at least one personal life story into a keepsake that can be given as a gift for Mother’s Day, graduation or Father’s Day. No writing or artistic experience is required for either of my workshops and for many of the other classes as well.

Please drop in for a visit or cruise around Susan’s website to see all the magical things that are lined up for March, April and May. As always, thank you for your friendship and notes of support during the course of my new adventure. How cool is it that I disembarked from my career more than two years ago and I have yet to be bored!  Thank you for feeding my soul and making that possible!

Here’s the description for my first workshop.

” Dream, Do, Become”- an introduction to journaling as a tool for achieving your dreams.

What do you want from your life? Tomorrow? Next year? In five years? The happiest and most fulfilled people share a common  understanding: “What you think about, you bring about.” But how do you envision and shape the life you want?
Join other like-minded people in this safe and relaxed environment as you learn more about expressing yourself through writing. This four-session journaling workshop will help you begin to identify what you want from your life. Create a working journal and use writing explorations to help overcome inertia. Identify and act on manageable moments of success. Create vivid images of your best life in glorious detail. Experience a shift in your thinking as you learn to embrace the idea that when it comes to making your dreams come true, believing is seeing. No artistic or writing experience is necessary.

Cost: $60 includes materials, Saturday mornings, March 17th through April 7th, 9:00 am until 10:30 am

Responses

  1. Yvonne,
    I was so excited to hear that you are joining forces with my dear friend Susan. I know this venture will be a success since it has so many amazing women at the helm. Good luck hop to see you soon!

  2. Congratulations! This is such wonderful news! I know your classes will be a huge hit. You never know where life will take you – enjoy the journey!


Leave a Reply

Categories

