Posted by: deadmousediaries | November 18, 2012

Holiday Book Signing to Benefit United Way – an event for Mitchell Kyd

Yeah! I am teaming up with United Way of Franklin County again this year to support the annual campaign through a book sale and signing. The event will be held Saturday, November 24, 2012, at Joyful Arts Studio, 55 West Baltimore Street, Greencastle, PA, 10:00 am to 2:00 pm. This is my third consecutive year of  a UW book signing partnership and all the proceeds from the sale go directly to United Way and the agencies it serves.

This latest release is a lot different from my previous Chicken Soup for the Soul stories; this year’s book is Freeing Godiva: a Woman’s Journey of Self-Empowerment, and the anthology brought together 12 women writers from across the country. My chapter is entitled: “10 Things I Know for Certain After My First 50 Years.”

I’m happy that Susan Shaffer, my “boss” at Joyful Arts Studio, has given me the space to do this event this year. The book signing coincides with the Studio holiday open house which begins on Thanksgiving Day and continues on Black Friday, Saturday and into Sunday, November 25th. She has fabulous Christmas gifts to offer – among them: distinctive jewelery, ornaments, hand-painted Santa keys and beautiful note cards created from her original art (great hostess gifts!) Please visit the Studio site at http://www.joyfulartstudio.com. to get some sneak peeks!

Freeing Godiva is also available on Amazon.com but I have priced my direct sale copies at $10 during this United Way promotion so that the full purchase price goes to United Way. If you miss the signing but would like a copy, you can get them from me at this price until 12/31/12. The United Way office in Chambersburg also has a stash and you can reach them at 717 262 0015.

As many of you know, I have been a long time supporter of the United Way as a volunteer, campaign solicitor and former VP and board member. I’m so happy that Amy Hicks, United Way executive director, recognizes this is my personal way of supporting a great cause. Hope to see some of your smiling faces on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

