Posted by: deadmousediaries | September 23, 2014

The Stalker

In 2010, I was part of a book project that brought together 12 phenomenal women to develop a women’s anthology, Freeing Godiva.  The book production turned into a nightmare thanks to poor handling by the publisher but out of the rubble came the gift of connection with the author of the post below, Maya Christobel.

I have never put another writer’s post on my blog but these insights from Maya run so true to my own philosophy about the importance of telling our stories that I had to share it. Enjoy her words and know that I wish I had written them. MK

Mythotherapy

Stalker

If stories come to you, care for them. And learn to give them away where they are needed. Sometimes a person needs a story more than food to stay alive.”

—Barry Lopez
(as Badger, in Crow and Weasel)

Since starting this blog this past week,  I have been inundated with emails. And, as you can imagine, people were sharing that there was a story to be told, a story that no one knew, a story that scared them, would unravel their family or the worst of all…a story that the writer was afraid would be….boring. How many of us tell ourselves every day that our story is not interesting enough, or that “no one would want to hear about MY life”?

Well, I’m here to say that fear to tell your story, since you are certain it will be a snoozer…is a cop out.  And the second thing…

View original post 881 more words

Responses

  1. Wow I am so privileged to have you repost my writing. And yes, our connection was the proof that the project of writing Freeing Godiva was a success. I agree, the book was great the publisher was not. Your stories here remind me of one of my favorite writers, Nora Ephron….you make my heart laugh, hurt, cry, yell,love…all at the same time. Thank you SO much.

    Maya Christoble http://www.mythotherapy.org

  2. Great post! Thank you!

    • Thank you for reading and making time to comment! I will make sure the real power behind that post–Maya–knows you enjoyed it. MK


Leave a Reply

Categories

